#startracking Thursday September 8th 12.30pm

Happy Days! 5/1 winner with Stamp Hill reading the script to the letter and probably more to come. Dark Devil was beaten just a nose depriving us of a 12/1 place! Ho hum. Excellent Doncaster card today with plenty to watch and a few recommendations on price mainly because they are IMHO too big!

Doncaster 1.55 Trappy fillies nursery to kick off. Normally I would go for the improvers but I like the look of the most experienced in the field, Mark Johnston’s LA CASA TARIFA. She is a long, leggy filly who has been up against some tough types, her second at York to The Wagon Wheel catches the eye. Simply too big at 20/1 and I will put her up for a star* each way @ 16/1 with Skybet, money back if 2nd or 3rd.

Doncaster 2.30 Five of the nine runners ran against each other at Goodwood last time suggesting it may not be the strongest form. Favourite Blending goes up from C4 to G2? The May Hill is a G2 for staying fillies and this time I will go for a possible improver! HIDDEN STEPS was very green on debut but when the penny dropped, stamina kicked in and she flew home. One star* each way @ 12/1 with Coral ¼ 1.2,3. I am also going to throw a couple of quid each way at 50/1 on BONGRACE who will definitely get a mile and a flat, galloping track is ideal! Whether she is good enough is another matter but trainer Kevin Ryan knows the time of day.

Doncaster 3.05 I have been with ABINGDON all season and I am not going to desert her now! Ground, grade and the trip are fine, indeed stamina is her forte. Only downside is the price. Three star*** win @ 9/4 general.

Doncaster 3.40 Has to be filed under “impossible”! However that won’t stop me backing MARIE OF LYON one star* each way @ 12/1 with PP 1/5  1,2,3,4. #FantasticMrFahey has a good record in this race and has a strong squad of 2yo fillies this year. Only Queen Kindly may be better than this one and I feel Marie of Lyon may have been saved for this with ground and trip in her favour. Spiritual Lady is a probable winner but too short and I will have a close eye on Jumira Bridge but I just can’t trust the Varian yard, yet!

Doncaster 4.15 Poets Word is quite possibly the proverbial “Group horse in a handicap”, a steady Stoute improver whose maiden win was really strong and picked up well to win at Goodwood but 13/8 is just too short. Not sure I want to take him on but I’m going to! Originally I was interested in Central Square but the more I look at the videos the more I think he has too much weight but would surely interest the NH brigade! So it’s a one star* win on BERMONDSEY @ 9/2 general who was unlucky on his last run in a strong Sandown contest and I’ll trust “Frank” Spencer to weave his magic!

Doncaster 4.50 I have both Glencadam Glory and Hydroxide on my list of 2yo’s Next Time list, O’Briens The Anvil and two pricey Maktoum newcomers make this a definite Watching Brief.

Doncaster 6.00 Like the 3.40 this has “impossible” written all over it. At first glance I thought Fendale could be an each way shot but not at 5/1! However Khelman at 40/1 is going to be hard to resist.

 

Couple of jockeys having an away day. Both Adam Kirby and Daniel Tudhope go to Chantilly for one ride. The latter rides Lord of the Land in a G3 and I think he could go close.

Leave a Reply

